Something Completely Different Fridays!

Something Completely Different Fridays

Something Completely Different Fridays

Happy Summer!  Today’s chapter is about one of my favorite things: cat naps.  Here’s hoping you have a chance to curl up and indulge in one of life’s simplest pleasures!

Oscar’s (Tail) Tale

Chapter 25–“Indian Summer”

Lolly’s first day back at school was as hot as any day in summer.  Grandma Brown it said it was because of something called “Indian Summer”.  I am not sure what exactly what that means, but I suspect that it has something to do with people not complaining about the weather.  Grandma Brown happily used this weather to play in her garden.

She let me keep her company during that time.  One day, when Grandma Brown was digging out potatoes, Bailey and I decided it would be a good idea to observe the whole procedure.  Actually, I observed the procedure, and Bailey actually took the opportunity to chomp and chew on the bigger potatoes.  Grandma Brown was not impressed with that!  She yelled and scolded Bailey and chased her out of the garden and back into the house.

Fortunately, Bailey still had the chewy-bone Lolly gave her.  She had finally forgiven that chewy bone for the whole bitten ear incident. Without that chewy-bone Bailey would have howled and whined at the door.  Without needing to supervise Bailey, I had more freedom to play while Grandma Brown worked at digging out potatoes.  It was a perfect day.  The sun made the ground feel so nice and warm. The air smelled of potatoes, and freshly turned earth, and there were birds of all kinds flying in the sky.  It was the kind of day that practically begged a cat to take a nap in the sun, so that is exactly what I did.

Grandma Brown was so caught up in digging her potatoes that she didn’t notice that I wasn’t walking about.  She managed to dig up her whole potato patch and about half of her carrot patch before she went inside to prepare for Lolly’s return from school. I, meanwhile, was totally forgotten about.  When I woke up, I panicked.  I had no idea where I was, and I started to wail.  For a moment I was scared that I had gotten lost again.  Bailey heard my cries and alerted Grandma Brown to the situation.  Together, she and Bailey began their search for me.  Since Grandma Brown had lost track of me earlier in the day, she really didn’t know where to begin looking for me.   Lucky for me Bailey is a good smeller.  Bailey sniffed her way through Grandma Brown’s garden all the way to where I had fallen asleep.

Grandma Brown chuckled when she first caught sight of me, “Oh by jeeves Oscar!  Leave it to you to curl up for a nap amongst the poppies.  It is a wonder you didn’t get stung by a bee—you silly orange fellow!” Then she said something about the poppy being a sleepy flower, and it was no surprise that I enjoyed such a long and deep sleep.  I was still so groggy that Grandma Brown had to pick me up and carry me into the house.  She chuckled the whole time and called me a “little stoner”—whatever that means!

After a couple of tuna-spam snacks, I was feeling a little more like my normal self.  My girl was home from school, and listened carefully while Grandma Brown told her the whole story of how I got forgotten amongst the poppies.  Lolly’s eyes lit up and she ran to her school bag.  As she wrestled with her school bag, she said, “Oscar, you are just like Dorothy!” Neither Bailey nor I knew what Lolly was talking about, but we soon found out because for the rest of the evening, our little girl read from her most recent chapter book: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz[1]. Listening to my little girl read aloud, and knowing that I had something in common with the girl in this story Lolly was so very crazy about, made me feel far less foolish somehow.  I curled up against a stinky and snoring Bailey, and purred my best head pet purr.  If there was any doubt before, I knew now more than ever I was among the luckiest of cats to have a caring pup, and such wonderful people in my world.

[1]L. Frank Baum, 1900

Leave a Reply

