Something Completely Different Fridays

Something Completely Different Fridays

Something Completely Different Fridays

Happy TGIF!  I have heard that the frequency of a cat’s purr is healing.  In some cases, it has been argued that its frequency hastens healing so well, in fact, that can even help mend broken bones quicker.  I really don’t know if all that is scientifically true, but I do know from personal experience that the magic of a cat’s purr can make my heart sing.

 

Oscar’s (Tail) Tale

 

Chapter 14—Tonsillitis

 

While Grandma Brown was struggling to evacuate all the mice from her root cellar, my Lolly caught a terrible coughing cold.  Like everything else, Grandma Brown blamed this on the mice, “Ohhh those horrible vermin that did this!”  My Lolly never played in the root cellar, and I always made sure I was perfectly groomed before purring my Lolly to sleep at night.  I had my doubts about Grandma Brown’s theory.  My Lolly told me once that sometimes the kids at school teased her for wearing both a winter hat and scarf, so sometimes during school recess she would leave her hat and scarf hanging up in the classroom.  I remember once when my redheaded boys did that, they too ended up with a nasty coughing cold.

            No matter what remedy Grandma Brown offered, Lolly still had a nasty cough.  It lasted a really long time, and some days it was so bad Lolly didn’t go out and ride the orangey yellow car to school.  I began to worry about my girl.  There were times when she felt too warm, and she was far too sleepy.  Other times she coughed so hard that my purring could not soothe her back to sleep.  My Lolly seemed to cry more than she laughed, and she slept more than she played.  I was so worried that Grandma Brown’s offering of tuna no longer cheered me up.  I mean I ate it and everything, but it just didn’t cheer me up.

            Finally, Grandma Brown took Lolly to the doctor.  Apparently Lolly’s doctor’s office didn’t allow cats, so I was left at home to worry.  I sat and looked out the window the practically whole time they were gone.  They must have been gone a long time, because at one point I fell asleep and off the top of the kitty condo.  The thud I made when I hit the floor startled me awake.  After what seems like hours, Grandma Brown and Lolly returned from their trip to the doctor.

            Lolly changed into her jammies and snuggled into the couch with a big fluffy blanket.  Grandma Brown turned on the TV and put a favorite movie on for her.  Afterward, Grandma Brown unpacked the shopping parcels they came home with.  As she did so, Grandma Brown explained to me that Lolly had something called “tonsillitis” which, apparently, required a bunch of different medicines, and something called a “tonsillectomy”.  This tonsillectomy sounded scary.  My Lolly had to stay at the hospital for two days. Grandma Brown tried to be brave, but I could tell she was a little scared.  I can’t say that blamed her—I was scared too.  I also didn’t want to think about how I would manage two whole days without my Lolly!

            My Lolly, on the other hand, didn’t seem scared.  She just wanted to feel well again.  She was so tired of coughing and feeling yucky.  She wanted nothing more to feel well enough to go back to school and be with her friends again.  Thankfully, all the medicines the doctor prescribed seemed to help Lolly cough less.  This also helped her sleep better at night.  Purring Lolly to sleep became more possible again.

            It was only a week between the doctor’s appointment and Lolly’s visit to the hospital.  I was so anxious for my girl I didn’t know what to do with myself.  I tried to help Lolly pack her overnight bag, but I got so desperate to help, I tried to pack myself into her bag.  I really didn’t want to spend a single night where I couldn’t purr my girl to sleep.  As they packed, I meowed.  Well…more accurately, I meow-cried.  I poured my heart out.  I told my girl how much I would miss her, and how scared I felt.

            Lolly giggled for what seemed like the first time in months.  She was laughing at me!  I couldn’t believe it!  I never felt so aghast, and relieved at the same time.  I loved hearing my little girl laugh, but I was a little upset that she didn’t understand how I felt.  Grandma Brown seemed to understand how complicated my feelings were.  She scrubbed me behind the ears and said in her best sooth-a-cat voice, “Here’s a good boy—come have some tuna.”

            While I was eating my tuna snack, Grandma Brown and Lolly snuck out of the house.  I think Grandma Brown suspected I would try to pack myself into Lolly’s overnight bag again.  I didn’t even get to watch them drive away in Grandma Brown’s little red truck. Grandma Brown didn’t come back until much, much later. It was so late, in fact, that Grandma Brown took her coat off and headed straight to bed.  Without a little girl to purr to sleep, I followed Grandma Brown, and snuggled up with her for the night. It was a good thing too, because Grandma Brown didn’t fall asleep right away.  She say it, but I think she appreciated my attempts to try and purr her to sleep.

            Nights are long for a cat when he doesn’t have his most favorite person to purr to sleep.  I was awake long after Grandma Brown finally fell asleep.  I hadn’t stayed up like that since I was a wee kitten living with my red-headed boys.  I seemed to remember the world being more intriguing back then.  Now, the house just seemed like a hollow, dark, and shadowy place.  I missed my little girl terribly, and I hoped with all my heart that she didn’t miss me half as much.  I couldn’t stand the thought of my girl being so far away from home, feeling ill, scared, and missing her home.  I decided to purr my loudest purr.  I put my whole heart into it, and trusted that where ever my girl was, she would hear it and know that she was safe and well loved.  I can’t say for sure it worked, but it did make me feel better.   

 

Leave a Reply

